The activity of the Committee for Spatial Economy and Regional Planning revolves around: forming the theoretical and methodological foundations for spatial development; exposing and studying the real mechanisms of spatial transformations and framing the concept of forecasts, strategies, policies as well as spatial development programmes.

In the current term of office, the Committee’s effort will be invested, in particular, in:

  • Cooperation with public authorities on matters related to the assessment of the state of affairs, level, research priorities, and evolution trends of the relevant set of current objectives.
  • Cooperation with the Central Statistical Office in pursuing studies of regional and local development and in the advancement of spatial planning monitoring systems, and the development of the Local Data Bank.
  • Expert support for the process of preparing the most fundamental solutions for the European Cohesion Policy (ECP) in Europe and Poland after 2023.
  • Cooperation in sharing the results of research and scientific effort devoted to the spatial consequences of climate change and to the preventing of and adapting to climate change.
  • Supporting the development of institutions involved in the planning of regional and spatial development by stimulating the development of academic staff teaching spatial management by promoting the exchange of best practice and course programmes. This task will be implemented in cooperation with the ministry competent for regional development, the Society of Polish Town Planners,  and higher educational institutions offering programmes in the aforesaid area.
  • Advancement of theory and practice of development planning and publication of literature on the subject in cooperation with national and international scientific and research communities (cooperation with ERSA and AESOP).
  • Forming the theoretical and practical foundations of an integrated development planning system based on the application model concept.
  • Participating in debates on the current challenges of spatial management of the country and regional and local development  and on new legislative solutions and new strategy papers.

With a view to accomplishing the tasks of the Work Plan, the Committee has established five task forces:

  • Task Force for the Spatial Dimension of European and National Public Policies
  • Task Force for Rural Areas
  • Task Force for Urban and Metropolitan Areas
  • Task Force for Large-Scale Infrastructure Projects
  • Task Force for Legal and Urban Planning